The holy river Ganges divides Bihar into two areas, North Bihar and South Bihar. North Bihar is the home of Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank.

In the first phase of amalgamation seven Regional Rural Banks, viz; Mithila Kshetriya Gramin Bank, Madhubani Kshetriya Gramin Bank, Champaran Kshetriya Gramin Bank, Vaishali Kshetriya Gramin Bank, Saran Kshetriya Gramin Bank, Gopalganj Kshetriya Gramin Bank and Siwan Kshetriya Gramin Bank had been amalgamated to form Uttar Bihar Kshetriya Gramin Bank(UBKGB) w.e.f. 1st March, 2006. In the second phase of amalgamation Kosi Kshetriya Gramin Bank(KKGB) merged with UBKGB w.e.f. 1st May, 2008 and formed Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank(UBGB).

Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank, headquartered at Muzaffarpur, is sponsored by Central Bank of India, and has its presence in eighteen districts, viv; Araria, Madhepura, Supaul, Saharsa, Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnea, Madhubani, Darbhanga, Sitamarhi, Muzaffarpur, Vaishali, East Champaran, West Champaran, Gopalganj, Siwan, Saran and Sheohar of North Bihar.

The network of 1027 Branches (635 Rural,348 Semi Urban and 44 Urban Branches) and 3340 BC outlets (Sunahara Sapna Kendras) is controlled by 14 regional offices at Araria, Bettiah, Chapra, Darbhanga, Gopalganj, Hajipur, Jhanjharpur, Madhubani, Motihari, Muzaffarpur, Purnea, Saharsa, Sitamarhi and Siwan.

For effective functioning of BC outlets and imparting financial literacy to the rural population, 18 Financial Literacy Centres(FLCs) have been established in all 18 districts of command area.

UBGB is among one of the largest RRB in India in terms of customer base, staff strength and branch network. The bank has been playing vital role in the economic developement of the region. The bank is on an ambitious growth trajectory with massive organisational developement initiatives aimed at being at forefront for bringing about a developemental revolution in its command area.